Netsso Logo

User Manual

Powers, Rights and Permissions in a J-Net

The Manager of a J-Net has considerable powers in relation to its management and vis-a-vis the members of the J-Net. Some of these are described in other sections above and all are summarised in this section.

The Manager has the exclusive right in the following matters:

  • to invite other Netsso members to join a J-Net, or to delete them from membership
  • to award rights, permissions including access to various features, to other members
  • to attach an online storage service to the J-Net
  • to create additional Albums in the J-Net
  • to edit or delete albums
  • to delete desktops
  • to edit the J-Nets internal "profile"

From his "Manage the J-Net" link on the Blog page of the J-Net, the Manager can invite users and, at the same time or at any later time, he can set and modify various permissions for the invited user.

  • to set and modify the number of Albums the member may use in the J-Net
  • to award "extended" rights to the user, whose default status is "Read Only".

Each new user has, by default, “read only” permission in the J-Net. But this permission can be “extended” by the manager to full or partial rights to create and edit desktops, links, chats. He may also be enabled to post stories to the J-Net blog, or edit or delete these, and he may be given permission to view the J-Nets Activity Log. The Manager enables these permissions for a particular user by clicking the icon opposite the users name on the Manage Your J-Net dialog, accessible from the J-Nets Home (Blog) page. He will receive the following list of options for that user:

J-Net Member Permissions

The Moderator of a Chat - he who sets it up - also has some powers:

  • to add or delete members to the chat channel, drawn from the J-Net list of members
  • to rename the chat
  • to delete messages in a chat (perhaps in order to change the topic without setting up a new chat for the new topic)
  • to delete his chat